PhDs Go Public is Back!

The PhDs Go Public Research Talk Series returns in 2017 with five dynamic events, where doctoral students tell their community-engaged research stories in just under seven minutes.

Initiated by the Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies in the 2015-6 academic year, the PhDs Go Public events spotlight PhD students from UBC's Public Scholars Initiative, who use the Pecha Kucha format to present on how their research is contributing to the public good, and making a change in the world. This year's themes include education, environment, culture, social justice, and health. Mark your calendars, and stay tuned for updates!

January 26

Engaging Education for Public Good

6:30-8:30pm, UBC Learning Exchange

Speakers: Ron Darvin (Teaching English as a Second Language), Hassan Halawa (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Tak Ishikawa (Experimental Medicine), Francois Lachapelle (Sociology), Miranda Meents (Botany), Sereana Naepi (Educational Studies), Melissa Guzman (Zoology).

March 15

6:30-8:30pm; UBC Robson Square

Human(e) Interactions with the Environment

Speakers: Yemi Adeyeye (Forestry), Evan Bowness (IRES), Mollie Chapman (IRES), Tugce Conger (IRES), Jamie Fenneman (Botany), Graham McDowell (IRES), Emily Rugel (Population and Public Health), Steve Williams (IRES), Stefan Pauer (Law).

March 23

2-4pm; UBC Chan Centre

Explorations in Culture and Diversity

Speakers: Ashli Akins (Interdisciplinary Studies), Eury Chang (Theatre), Severn Cullis-Suzuki (Anthroplogy), Claire Fogal (Theatre), Gregory Gan (Anthropology), Lily Ivanova (Sociology), Stephanie Nakagawa (Opera), Teilhard Paradela (History)

April 12

6:30-8:30pm; Vancouver Public Library 

Re(Searching) for Social Justice

Speakers: Emma Feltes (Anthropology), Sarah Fessenden (Anthropology), Jocelyn Fraser (Mining Engineering), Kyle Loewen (Geography), Maggie Low (IRES), Alicia Luedke (Political Science), Jeremy Stone (Planning).

May 4

4-6pm; Sunny Hill Health Centre, 3644 Slocan St, Vancouver

Advancing Health and Inclusion

Speakers: Laura Bulk (Rehabilitation Science), Bulmaro Valdes (Biomedical Engineering), Beth Clark (Interdisciplinary Studies), Stephanie Glegg (Rehabilitation Science), Aarthi Gobinath (Neuroscience), Celestin Hategeka (Population and Public Health), Jaime Semchuk (Educational and Counselling Psychology), Evan Taylor (Language and Literacy Education).





Thursday, 05 January 2017