2016/17 Killam Doctoral Scholarship Recipients Announced

Main Mall, UBC

Thirty-one UBC doctoral candidates have received a Killam Doctoral Scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.

These awards are available to students in all disciplines, and this year’s winners are researching areas across the intellectual spectrum, from anthropology to zoology. Their research topics include:

  • Examining how traditional Inuit knowledge is passed down through the generations;
  • Investigating how laws regulating sex work affects the health of sex workers and their clients;
  • Developing better algorithms to process vast amounts of data, and;
  • Studying the gut microbes of malnourished children to develop better ways to help them.

The Killam Doctoral Scholarships are provided each year from the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Fund for Advanced Studies and are awarded to the top doctoral candidates in the annual Tri-Agency/Affiliated Fellowships competition. These scholarships provide up to $30,000 per year plus a $2,000 research travel allowance over a two-year term.

The recipients of the 2016-2017 Killam Doctoral Scholarships are (in alphabetical order):

Congratulations to all of this year's recipients.

About the Killam Trusts

The Killam Trusts were established in 1965 by Dorothy Johnston Killam for the benefit of The University of British Columbia, The Canada Council for the Arts, Dalhousie University, Montreal Neurological Institute of McGill University, University of Alberta and The University of Calgary.

In the realm of higher education in Canada the name Killam is synonymous with financial support for advanced studies.  Here at UBC that support is distributed in a number of ways, via doctoral and postdoctoral fellowships, mentoring and teaching awards for faculty, recognition for outstanding emeriti, awards to graduate teaching assistants, faculty salary supplements, start-up funds for new initiatives and faculty research fellowships and prizes.

Learn more about UBC’s Killam awards and fellowships.

Killam Laureates



Thursday, 14 July 2016