27 researchers receive prestigious awards

Eighteen doctoral students at UBC have received Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS), and nine postdoctoral fellows have received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships.

The Vanier CGS program awards up to $50,000 per year for three years, for students working in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences, engineering and health. The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships are worth $70,000 per year for two years. Across Canada, 166 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and 70 Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships were announced. UBC's researchers were revealed as part of the Government of Canada's announcement on May 28, 2024.

“Congratulations to the 2024 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships recipients! Their dedication to advancing knowledge for the benefit of all is truly impressive and their hard work will help find solutions that have the potential to make the world a better place and drive Canadian prosperity.”
– The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Scholarships are distributed equally between the three federal granting agencies: Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).


Name Faculty Department Funding Agency
Audrey Irvine-Broque Arts Geography SSHRC
Bhavyathmika Reddy Medicine School of Population and Public Health CIHR
Emily Lawson Arts Philosophy SSHRC
Hebah Hussaina Medicine Women and Children's Health Sciences SSHRC
Ijeoma Okedo-Alex Medicine School of Population and Public Health CIHR
Jalisa Karim Medicine Women and Children's Health Sciences CIHR
Elizabeth Gregory Medicine MD/PhD CIHR
Jorden Hendry MedicinE School of Population and Public Health CIHR
Kai Jacobsen Graduate Studies Interdisciplinary Studies CIHR
Kiarah O'Kane Arts Psychology SSHRC
Morgan Towriss Medicine Biochemistry & Molecular Biology CIHR
Pardis Semnani Science Math NSERC
Pawanjit Sandhu UBC Okanagan campus Okanagan NSERC
Zakir Tahiry  Medicine Oncology CIHR
Raziehsadat Banijamali Medicine Pathology CIHR
Sherryl Sewepagaham Arts Music SSHRC
Tetiana Poliakova Medicine Neuroscience CIHR
Torin Halvorson Medicine MD/PhD CIHR
Victoria Wu Applied Science Electrical & Computer Engineering NSERC
Xue Wang Medicine MD/PhD CIHR


The list of UBC's new Banting Fellows is available on postdocs.ubc.ca.

The full lists of Vanier Scholars and Banting Fellows across Canada are available from the Government of Canada.


Wednesday, 29 May 2024