2020/2021 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships awarded to 26 UBC researchers

Twenty doctoral students at UBC have received Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS), and six postdoctoral fellows have received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships, following an announcement on June 15, 2021.

The Vanier CGS program awards up to $50,000 per year for three years, for students working in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences, engineering and health. The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships are worth $70,000 per year for two years. Across Canada, 166 doctoral students received the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship, while 70 received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships. 

"The recipients of this year’s Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships could not be more deserving of these prestigious awards. They will bring critical new insights to their fields, help ensure that cutting-edge discoveries and innovations continue to propel Canada as a global leader, and contribute to a healthier, greener, more equitable and more prosperous future.”
- The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

UBC’s world-class doctoral students for 2021 include researchers working on everything from ecological restoration and vaccine efficacy to data analysis and information dissemination. With both Canadian and international recipients, the funded projects include community-based research, multi-longitudinal studies and projects that have potential to directly impact people across the globe. Researchers such as Evelyn Arrigada credit interdisciplinary approaches to learning and alternative epistemologies as being keys to their success.

Scholarships are distributed equally between the three federal granting agencies: Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).


Name Faculty Department Funding Agency
Evelyn Arriagada Science Science Resources, Environment and Sustainability SSHRC
Meryem Belkadi Applied Science School of Community and Regional Planning SSHRC
Alberto Campos Science Resources, Environment and Sustainability NSERC
Elizabeth Castle Applied Science School of Biomedical Engineering CIHR
Maya Daurio Arts Anthropology SSHRC
Hamidreza Galavi Medicine Experimental Medicine CIHR
Rivkah Gardner-Frolick Applied Science Mechanical Engineering NSERC
Pablo Gonzalez Moctezuma Forestry Forestry SSHRC
Athanasios Kritharis Applied Science Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering NSERC
Robert Mahikwa Education Educational Studies SSHRC
Caleb Marshall Science Mathematics NSERC
Sofie McComb Forestry Forestry NSERC
Hadis Mozaffari Land and Food Systems Human Nutrition CIHR
Elyn Rowe Medicine Pathology and Laboratory Medicine CHIR
Jessica Schaub Science Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences NSERC
Nikola Surjanovic Science Statistics NSERC
Shayda Swann Medicine MD/PhD Program CIHR
Maryam Vaseghi-Shanjani Medicine MD/PhD Program CIHR
Caitlyn Yates Arts Anthropology SSHRC
Enav Zusman Medicine Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology CIHR


The list of UBC's new Banting Fellows is available on postdocs.ubc.ca.

The full lists of Vanier Scholars and Banting Fellows across Canada are available from the Government of Canada.

Thursday, 15 July 2021