Governor General's Gold Medal


Applicants: check with graduate program (likely February 2020); Graduate programs: check with the Dean's office of your disciplinary Faculty; G+PS Deadline: 6 March 2020 at 4:00 pm PST

Annual Value



Permanent Resident

Degree Level


One gold medal is awarded to the student who has achieved the most outstanding academic record as a doctoral student. A second gold medal is awarded to the graduate student who has achieved most outstanding academic record as a Master’s student completing a thesis. This is an opportunity to honour the best in the graduating class within the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, as there is only one award for more than 2,000 Master’s graduates and one award for more than 500 doctoral graduates. Medals are presented on behalf of the Governor General of Canada by participating educational institutions, along with a personalized certificate signed by the Governor General. There is no monetary award associated with the medals.



Students must have submitted the final copy of their thesis to the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019.

Nomination Procedures

Graduate Programs

Graduate programs must check with their respective Dean’s Office for their Faculty’s internal nomination deadline. Internal nomination deadlines are normally several weeks before the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies deadline. Each graduate program nomination must include the following:

  • Application form filled out by the student
  • All university-level transcripts (original or certified true copy of official transcripts from universities other than UBC; copy of Academic History from SISC will be accepted in place of official UBC transcript)
  • Copy of External Examiner’s report on doctoral dissertation
  • Letter of support from thesis supervisor
  • Letter of support from Department Head

Faculty Dean’s Offices

Deans review nominations submitted by their graduate programs and nominate up to two students to the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, one for the Master’s medal and one for the doctoral medal. Each Faculty nomination must include the following:

  • Cover memo with the names of the recommended students and a brief description of the Faculty’s internal review process and the rationale for ranking candidates
  • Nomination package for each student as submitted by graduate program (see section above)

Nomination materials may be submitted as hard-copy or electronic files. If you plan to submit nomination materials electronically, please contact We will create a shared folder in Workspace and provide instructions for uploading files.

The deadline for disciplinary Faculties to submit their nominations to G+PS is 4:00 p.m. on Friday, 6 March 2020.

Adjudication Procedures

The Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies will form a committee to review the recommendations from all Faculties and select the two winners.

The Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies will:

  • submit a 150-word citation for each winner to Ceremonies and Events, both of which will be read at Congregation in May 2020
  • inform the winners and confirm their attendance at Congregation. Some winners may have graduated at an earlier Congregation, but will be invited to attend the May 2020 ceremony.

Governor General Recommendation Forms for the winners will then be submitted to the Student Financial Assistance and Awards office, which assigns the awards on the Student Information System.

Previous Award Winners

Doctoral Students

  • 2020: Rebecca Sherbo, Chemistry
  • 2019: Shekoofeh Azizi, Electrical Engineering
  • 2018: Thomas Hutchcroft, Mathematics
  • 2017: Stilianos Louca, Mathematics
  • 2016: Dustin Thomas King, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • 2015: Adam Thomas Ford, Zoology
  • 2014: Jan Janouskovec, Botany
  • 2013: Asato Ikeda, Art History & Visual Arts
  • 2012: Peter Dominic Maxwell Eirew, Genetics
  • 2011: Rowan D.H. Barrett, Zoology
  • 2010: Jeremy Goldbogen, Zoology
  • 2009: Mirela Andronescu, Computer Science
  • 2007: Gordon Patrick McTaggart-Cowan, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2006: Jeremy Michael Van Raamsdonk, Medical Genetics

Master's Students

  • 2020: Ellen Jopling, Psychology
  • 2019: Mohit Sodhi, Experimental Medicine
  • 2018: Xue Bin Peng, Computer Science
  • 2017: Matthew Gordineer Warner, English
  • 2016: Sameer Hemant Shah, Resource Management & Environmental Studies
  • 2015: Niki Myrto Mavraki, Mathematics
  • 2014: Carling Dawn Gerlinsky, Zoology
  • 2013: Chipman Taylor Drury, Experimental Medicine
  • 2012: Jennifer Mary Burt, Forestry
  • 2011: Arpeeta Sharma, Pharmacology
  • 2010: Clarice Hei Lok Fu, Zoology
  • 2009: Milica Mandic, Zoology
  • 2007: Jordan Ali Guenette, Human Kinetics
  • 2006: Maxim Metlitski, Physics

Further Information

Questions about Governor General's Gold Medal should be directed to

Further information about the Governor General's Academic Medals can be found on the website for the Governor General of Canada