Researchers receive more than $1M in funding

Eighteen doctoral students at UBC have received Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS), and seven postdoctoral fellows have received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships. Together, the awards total just over $1M annually for UBC researchers.

The Vanier CGS program awards up to $50,000 per year for three years, for students working in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences, engineering and health. The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships are worth $70,000 per year for two years. Across Canada, 166 doctoral students received Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships, while 70 received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships. UBC's 19 researchers were revealed as part of the Government of Canada's announcement on August 28, 2023.

“Congratulations to these talented recipients from all across the country who are doing the groundbreaking work that will contribute not only to Canada’s health and well-being but also to the world’s. Through this funding, the Government of Canada is investing in the next generation of researchers and inspiring them to continue to think outside the box and tackle the challenges of today and tomorrow.”
– The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Scholarships are distributed equally between the three federal granting agencies: Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).


NAme Faculty Department Funding Agency
Samuel Adeyanju  Forestry Forestry SSHRC
Vriti Bhagat Medicine Pathology CIHR
Jonathan Beutler Land and Food Systems Plant Science NSERC
Sameeksha Chopra Medicine MD/PHD CIHR
Lindsay DuPré Graduate Studies Interdisciplinary Studies SSHRC
Daniel Forrest Science Resources, Environment and Sustainability   NSERC
Elizabeth Gregory Medicine MD/PhD CIHR
Cara James Science Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences NSERC
Dana Johnson Science Resources, Environment and Sustainability   SSHRC
Ahmed Kabil Applied Science Biomedical Engineering NSERC
Vasileia Karasavva Arts Psychology SSHRC
Abisola Kehinde Medicine BIMB CIHR
Madison Lore Applied Science School of Community and Regional Planning SSHRC
Noa Mayer Forestry Forest and Conservation Sciences NSERC
Meghna Mohandas Applied Science School of Community and Regional Planning SSHRC
Zakir Tahiry  Medicine Oncology CIHR
Terri-Lynn Williams-Davidson Allard Law SSHRC
Allison Kooijman
Applied Science
School of Nursing


The list of UBC's new Banting Fellows is available on

The full lists of Vanier Scholars and Banting Fellows across Canada are available from the Government of Canada.



This post was updated to add additional students who were inadvertently omitted from the original release.

Wednesday, 30 August 2023