Eighteen doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows receive prestigious Vanier and Banting awards

Fifteen doctoral students at UBC have received Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS), and three postdoctoral fellows have received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships.

The Vanier CGS program awards up to $50,000 per year for three years, for students working in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences, engineering and health. The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships are worth $70,000 per year for two years.

Across Canada, 166 doctoral students received Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships, while 70 received Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships. UBC's 18 researchers were revealed as part of the Government of Canada's announcement on November 28, 2022.

Adam van Koeverden, Parliamentary Secretary, on behalf of the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, announced the recipients. Together the awards total an investment of $34.7 million over three years.

“The Government of Canada continues to make record investments in science and research because we know it’s key to creating a more equitable future for all. This year’s recipients of the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships represent the highest calibre of researchers in the health sciences, natural sciences and engineering, and social sciences and humanities. They will bring new voices and new insights to help ensure that cutting-edge discoveries continue to propel Canada as a global leader.”
- The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Scholarships are distributed equally between the three federal granting agencies: Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).


Name Faculty Department Funding Agency
Jerry Achar Science Resources, Environment and Sustainability  
Albina Gibadullina Arts Geography SSHRC
Bri Watson Arts School of Information SSHRC
Chloe Gao Medicine MD/PhD - Health Services  
Madeline Lauener Medicine Pathology and Laboratory Medicine CIHR
Dhiraj Mannar Medicine MD/PhD - Virology  
Julia Nakamura Arts Psychology CIHR
Nourhan Bayasi Applied Science Electrical and Computer Engineering  
Katrina Bergmann Science Chemistry  
David Black Applied Science Electrical and Computer Engineering NSERC
Layal Jbara Applied Science Chemical and Biological Engineering  
Elise Legarth Science Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences NSERC
Jenna Melanson Science Zoology  
Davi Monticelli Science Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences NSERC
Shiva Zagara Ershadi Applied Science Civil and Mechanical Engineering  


The list of UBC's new Banting Fellows is available on postdocs.ubc.ca.

The full lists of Vanier Scholars and Banting Fellows across Canada are available from the Government of Canada.

Monday, 28 November 2022