Gustave O. Arlt Award in the Humanities


Check with graduate program; Graduate porgram nomination deadline: likely March 2018

Annual Value

$1,000, a certificate and travel expenses to attend the CGS annual meeting


Permanent Resident

Degree Level


Named in honor of the first president of the Council of Graduate Schools and first presented in 1972, this award is made annually to a scholar-teacher in the humanities. The recipient must be teaching in a North American university, have earned a doctorate within 7 years of the award date, and have written a book of scholarly importance.  Subjects fields are selected annually. Awards have been made in literature, history, linguistics, foreign languages, philosophy, archaeology and musicology. 2017 field of competition was Classical Studies/Archaeology.



  1. The recipient must have received the doctorate within seven years of the award, and currently be teaching at a North American university
  2. The recipient must have taken the degree at a North American university
  3. The book being considered must have been published within seven years of the award. The book must have been written in or translated into English
  4. The book must represent an outstanding contribution to scholarship in the field

Nomination Procedures

Each department can submit one nomination to the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. A complete application will consist of:

  1. nomination form
  2. a letter from the Department Head elaborating upon the scholarly contribution made by the nominee’s book
  3. three copies of the nominated book

Nominations (1. and 2. above) are to be submitted via grad program Workspace folders as a single PDF file using the naming convention ARLT_DEPT_Last_First.pdf (as an example, nomination file for Jane Smith from History department would be named ARLT_HIST_Smith_Jane.pdf). Please put the file directly into your G+PS Awards – DEPT folder; do not create subfolders. Three copies of the nominated book will have to be submitted as hard copy.

Further Information

The Council of Graduate Schools website has more information about this award.

Questions about nominations for his award should be directed to Marija Zimonja.